A nocturnal encounter

Slowly but surely did your inflection soothe

Slowly but never surely did I move in close

.

.

.

There was never a need on the other side

Of boundaries and wire fences to stop my stride

With fields as wide as my tongue could spell

To run and to explore and to dig around

Wandering around, a bit confused and surprised,

Eyes wide open, yet Into my own grave, I soon fell.

 

No helping hand is offered for me to get out

Just a smiling stare to see me crawl back out

I am just as welcome now to see around

If I can but dare to stand your silence and its mocking sound

 

Even though I knew every single line in the palm of my hand

I now understood, one can never know every single grain of sand

Some graves you must first lie in

If the dirt above you want to tread in

Into your books I have now again entered

A few of your pages I too have now gathered

 

~ These few lines I don’t write on purpose

for the poem, never should disturb the prose ~

 

The days drowsiness finally crawled over the night

As your voice it started to fade into your breath

Silence was louder now with the sounds of your whisper,

and my voice it was betrayed by the the faintest of quiver.

 

A few metal pieces fell off the skin of my face,

and my heart on it left the slightest trace.

 

And with such inhibitions that I now leave behind

Sit down, that perfect line of yours first to find.

.

.

.

Slowly but never surely did my inflections soothe

Slowly but surely I did move in close.

Leave a comment